E&E OGC Logo E&E Logo OGC Pages

Commission News and Alerts

What's New

Gas Storage Report

The Office of the State Geologist recently released an information circular, Potential for Additional Natural Gas Storage Capacity in the Arkoma Basin in Arkansas. For this study, a ratio of plugged wells to producing and temporarily abandonded wells was applied to natural gas fields in the Arkoma Basin in order to identify mature, nearly depleted fields that have potential for underground natural gas storage operations. The read this report, please visit the OSG website at and find it under Publications, Information Circulars.

National Safe Digging Month

April has been designated as "National Safe Digging Month." Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders issued a proclamation on March 30, 2023 recognizing April as National Safe Digging Month in Arkansas. recognizing April as National Safe Digging Month in Arkansas. This designation acknowledges the significance of calling 811 before you dig. Along with the Governor, the Arkansas Public Service Commission’s Pipeline Safety Office, the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission, Arkansas 811, and the Common Ground Alliance encourage excavators and homeowners to always call 811 before digging to prevent unintended consequences such as service interruption, environmental damage, personal injury, and even death. In addition to dialing 811, customers can also contact Arkansas One Call at 800-482-8998

The National Safe Digging Month campaign is intended to increase awareness of the national call-before-you-dig number, 811, in order to prevent damage to underground utility facilities. Dialing 811 provides a simple means to contact the Arkansas One Call Center to request utility line locations at the intended dig site. Through education about safe digging practices, excavators and homeowners can save time and money by calling 811 in advance of any digging project; waiting the required amount of time; respecting the marked lines; and digging with care around the marks.

Gathering Rule Meeting

Revised regulations for natural gas gathering lines have been adopted by the Pipeline and Hazardous Material Safety Administration (PHMSA) of the United States Department of Transportation (DOT). Prior to this revision, natural gas pipelines in a Class I location were exempt from federal rules. The final rule requires operators of all onshore gas gathering lines to prepare and submit annual reports with information about their gas gathering lines and to submit incident reports under part 191. The information is necessary to monitor the safety performance of gas gathering systems and inform the appropriate level of regulatory oversight. This final rule also adopts new safety requirements for larger-diameter ( i.e., with outer diameters of 8.625 inches or greater), higher-operating pressure gas gathering lines to mitigate risks to public safety and pipeline integrity. The effective date of this rule is May 16, 2022.

Arkansas Energy Resources Planning Task Force 2021 Report

The Arkansas Energy Resources Planning Task Force has completed its 2021 report. The report presents the findings and recommendations of the Task Force after reviewing the testimony gathered through pre-hearing questions and hearings, and all documentation submitted to the Task Force. A copy of the report can be found here.

On March 3, 2021, Governor Asa Hutchinson issued EO 21-05, creating the Task Force to review lessons learned from the February 2021 winter storms by hearing testimony from a list of identified public and private sector leaders and any other citizen as the Task Force deems necessary; provide recommendations to the Governor for actions needed to ensure adequate supply of critical energy sources during extreme events; and develop priorities for allocation of limited energy resources should supply shortages due to emergency situations necessitate action to preserve life, health, and safety. Becky Keogh, Secretary of Energy & Environment; Lawrence Bengal, Director of the Oil & Gas Commission; Kevin Pfalser, Director of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board; and Mike Preston, Secretary of Commerce, served as members of the Task Force. Secretary Keogh served as the Task Force Chair.

Adobe Reader is required to view some documents. Click here to download or update Adobe.    

5301 Northshore Drive,
North Little Rock, AR 72118
Phone: 501-683-5814